Love, Defiance, and Community

On 23rd March I took part in a discussion in a forum entitled What is Freedom? in Norwich as part of Islamic Awareness Week. I presented a contribution entitled The Concept of the Social and give some further information herein.

For the last 6 months or so, I have been researching Carl Schmitt. Schmitt’s theories on politics have captivated me and I noticed the similarity between his thinking on this matter and that of Ibn Khaldun, a celebrated 14-15th century Muslim thinker.

What I wrote down on this matter was presented at a forum organised by the Muslims of Norwich group. First off, I wish to say thank you to the organizers for inviting me and making me feel welcome.

Here is a link to the full text of the talk.

It is a lengthy talk, running to a few thousand words with references. I will just summarize three main points of the talk;

(1) Schmitt and Ibn Khaldun both offered a political viewpoint that is at odds with modern-day individualized freedom. From this I concluded that collective freedom is the only freedom worth discussing.

(2) This collective freedom must be based on classical theory, i.e. a form of social love, but also must have a creative ‘twist.’

(3) Schmitt erred somewhat in his thinking on the political, mistaking content for form. Defiance and acceptance were considered to be better parameters of the political criterion that Schmitt is famed for.

If you are interested, click on the link above.

Currently, I am researching a book on Carl Schmitt. Any comments or suggested corrections to this post are welcome. I have already authored one book Mysteries of State in the Renaissance. My Amazon page is here.

Leave a Reply

